- Uncategorized

Some Important Deadlines Are Approaching

November 1, 2010: Ronald Sukenick American Book Review Innovative Fiction Prize.

The Ronald Sukenick/American Book Review Innovative Fiction Contest is open to any U.S. writer in English who has not previously published with Fiction Collective Two. Submissions may include a collection of short stories, one or more novellas, or a novel of any length. There is no length requirement. Works that have previously appeared in magazines or in anthologies may be included. Translations and previously published or self-published novels and collections are not eligible. To avoid conflict of interest, former or current students or close friends of the final judge for 2010, Kate Bernheimer, are ineligible to enter the contest. Employees and Board members of FC2 are not eligible to enter.

November 15, 2010: Flying Guillotine Chapbook Contest.

Submit 30 pages of poetry.


November 17, 2010: The Sentence Book Award.

The Sentence Book Award will be given to a book-length manuscript of prose poems or a book-length manuscript consisting substantially of prose poems (for example, a book that is half prose poems and half free-verse, or a book-length sequence that mixes passages of prose poetry with other modes). The recipient of the award will receive publication in a trade paper edition with a standard royalty contract and 50 copies of the book. All entrants will receive Sentence #8 (entrants who are already subscribers will have their subscription extended by one issue). Entry fee: $25 by check to Firewheel Editions or by PayPal.

November 17, 2010: The Firewheel Chapbook Award.

The Firewheel Chapbook Award is given to a collection of no more than 20 manuscript pages in any genre. Preference is for innovative work (liberally interpreted), work that crosses genres, work that combines images and text, work in formats other than the traditionally bound book, or work that may have difficulty finding publication elsewhere due to the nature, typography, or format of the work. The recipient of the award will receive 50 copies out of a limited edition. Entry fee: $15 by check to Firewheel Editions or by PayPal.

December 1, 2010: Rose Metal Press Annual Short Short Chapbook Contest.

Our Fifth Annual Short Short Chapbook Contest submission period begins October 15 and ends December 1, 2010. Our 2010 judge will be Kim Chinquee. The winner will have his/her chapbook published in summer 2011, with an introduction by the contest judge. During the submission period, please email your 25–40 page double-spaced manuscript of short short stories under 1000 words to ushere with a $10 reading fee via Paypal or check.

Leave a Reply