- Awards, Books, Event, Reading, Small Presses, Writing

Announcing the Winners of the 2021 Big Other Book Awards!

Delighted to announce the winners of the 2021 Big Other Book Awards!

The awards aim to recognize excellence in literature and to promote and support the work of innovative writers and adventurous presses.

The winner was announced June 24, 2022 at 7:00 p.m. at the 2021 Big Other Book Awards Ceremony.

Without further ado, here are the winners of the 2021 Big Other Book Awards:

Eugene Lim’s Search History (Coffee House Press)

Stefano Harney and ‎Fred Moten’s All Incomplete (Minor Compositions)

Will Alexander’s The Combustion Cycle (Roof Books)

António Lobo Antunes’s Warning to the Crocodiles (Dalkey Archive), translated by Karen C. Sherwood Sotelino

Readers’ Choice Award:
Edwin Torres’s Quanundrum: [I Will Be Your Many Angled Thing] (Roof Books)

Kudos to all of the winners! Kudos, too, to the 2021 Big Other Lifetime Achievement Awardees: Gayl Jones, Ishmael Reed, Leslie Marmon Silko, and Ngũgĩ wa Thiong’o!

And kudos to the 2021 Big Other Literary Citizenship Awardees: Cave Canem, FC2, Daniel Green, and Suzanne Jill Levine! May we all follow your shining and vital example!



  • John Madera is the author of Nervosities (Anti-Oedipus Press, 2024). His other fiction is published in Conjunctions, Salt Hill, The &Now Awards 2: The Best Innovative Writing, and many other journals. His nonfiction is published in American Book Review, Bookforum, The Review of Contemporary Fiction, Rain Taxi: Review of Books, The Believer, The Brooklyn Rail, and many other venues. Recipient of an M.F.A. in Literary Arts from Brown University, New York State Council on the Arts awardee John Madera lives in New York City, Rhizomatic and manages and edits Big Other.

Leave a Reply