- Awards, Books, Event, News, Poetry, Reading, Writing

Announcing the Finalists for the 2019 Big Other Book Award for Poetry!


We are excited to announce the finalists for the 2019 Big Other Book Award for Poetry. The winner will be announced May 16, 2020 at the inaugural Big Other Book Awards Ceremony.

All the books below are linked to their respective pages at Bookshop. Visit the Big Other Shop there, where you can find the list of finalists in its entirety.

Without further ado, here are the finalists for the 2019 Big Other Book Award for Poetry:

T. J. Anderson III’s Devonte Travels the Sorry Route (Omnidawn)

Lillian-Yvonne Bertram’s Travesty Generator (Noemi Press)

Jaswinder Bolina’s The 44th of July (Omnidawn)

Timothy Donnelly’s The Problem of the Many (Wave Books)

Elaine Equi’s The Intangibles (Coffee House Press)

Jennifer Firestone’s Story (Ugly Duckling Presse)

Rodney Gomez’s Ceremony of Sand (YesYes Books)

Ilya Kaminsky’s Deaf Republic (Graywolf)

Fred Moten’s All That Beauty (Letter Machine Editions)

Gabriel Ojeda-Sagué’s Losing Miami (The Accomplices)

Martin Ott’s Fake News Poems (BlazeVox)

Morgan Parker’s Magical Negro (Tin House)

Martha Ronk’s Silences (Omnidawn)

Ed Steck’s An Interface for a Fractal Landscape (Ugly Duckling Presse)

Stephanie Strickland’s How the Universe Is Made (Ahsahta Press)

Arthur Sze’s Sight Lines (Copper Canyon Press)

Brian Teare’s Doomstead Days (Nightboat Books)

Genya Turovskaya’s The Breathing Body of This Thought (Black Square Editions)

Sarah Vap’s Winter (Noemi Press)

Puerto Rico en mi corazón, edited by Carina del Valle Schorske, Ricardo Maldonado, Erica Mena, and Raquel Salas Rivera (Anomalous Press)


Leave a Reply